Health care is one of our nation’s most scrutinized industries. Facilities, medical staff, and insurers have an ever-increasing responsibility to maintain high-quality standards, provide transparency, and keep costs under control.

That’s why a confidential and impartial external review is an essential tool for any health care facility or insurance provider. Whether the goal is improved quality of care, effective utilization of service, or provider review, a trusted review partner should be a critical part of your team.

Who we are

Founded in 1983, Physicians Review Organization is an accredited independent medical review organization. Recognizing that hospitals and medical staff have the responsibility to maintain high-quality standards, we have developed a unique peer-review approach to meet these standards.

Who we serve

Physicians Review Organization provides case reviews to a wide range of partners including hospitals, physician practices, HMOs, managed care organizations, and major insurance companies. 

Rebecca Blake Headshot

Rebecca Blake

Chief Executive Officer

Matthew T. Allswede, M.D., F.A.C.O.G. Headshot

Matthew T. Allswede, M.D., F.A.C.O.G.

Medical Director

Dr. Allswede is a board-certified obstetrician-gynecologist who has been in practice since 1993. He is a graduate of the University of Michigan Medical School and holds faculty appointments with the Michigan State University Colleges of Human and Osteopathic Medicine. 

Cheryl Lockwood, BSN, RN Headshot

Cheryl Lockwood, BSN, RN

Clinical Manager

Cheryl Lockwood manages the clinical aspects of the daily operations of Physicians Review Organization. Cheryl has been a licensed practical nurse since 2006. Her clinical experience includes long-term care, skilled nursing, and wound management. She has worked in business administration for 20 years.

Mirya Brion Headshot

Mirya Brion

Administrative Assistant

Mirya Brion manages the administrative operations of Physicians Review Organization. Mirya attended Central Michigan University and has 9 years experience in administrative operations.

Jennifer Crawford

Project Coordinator

Venkat Rao, MD


Gordon White, Jr.

Vice President

Tom George, MD


James Mitchiner, MD, MPH


Larry Schwartz


Bryan L. Burke Jr., MD


Matthew T. Allswede, MD, FACOG


Madhuri Chilakapati, MD


Cheryl Gibson-Fountain, M.D.


Barry Lewis, D.O.